Prof. Gabor ForgacsGabor Forgacs Recognized with Professorship

Gabor Forgacs has been named the Karel K. Czanderna ’77 and W. Dan Shirkey ’80 Professor in Physics.

Forgacs is distinguished university professor and executive and scientific director of Clarkson’s Shipley Center for Innovation. Forgacs is a pioneer of “bioprinting,” a novel engineering technology to build tissues on demand. He is the scientific founder of Organovo Inc., and Modern Meadow, biotech companies focused on commercializing the tissue printing technology respectively for regenerative medicine and the ethical fabrication of animal products.

He is the author of more than 150 peer-reviewed journal articles and several books.

Prof. Susan ConryConry Receives IEEE Award

Susan E. Conry, Distinguished Service Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, received the 2011 IEEE William E. Sayle II Award for Achievement in Education from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Conry has been a key player in major curriculum development efforts in the computing disciplines organized by the IEEE Computer Society and the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). She has also been active in accreditation of computer science programs and engineering programs.

In 2002, she became the first member of the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET to represent the software engineering discipline. Today, Conry is a member of the executive committee of the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET and ABET’s Accreditation Council. 

Prof. Cetin CetinkayaCetinkaya Elected ASME Fellow

Professor of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering Cetin Cetinkaya has been elected a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

Cetinkaya is a researcher in the field of vibration, elastic wave propagation, thermoelasticity, MEMS-based sensors, particle adhesion and removal, and symbolic computing. His recent research found key applications in the characterization of pharmaceutical materials and manufacturing monitoring, and adhesion/removal of nano/micro-particles in the semiconductor industry.

His research group has, for the first time, experimentally demonstrated the existence of rolling resistance moment in micro-particles based on a non-contact method he introduced.

Prof. Pier MarzoccaMarzocca Delivers Plenary Lecture in Budapest

Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering Associate Professor Pier Marzocca delivered an invited plenary lecture last June at the Ninth International Congress on Thermal Stresses in Budapest, Hungary.

His lecture titled “Nonlinear Aero-Thermo-Elasticity of Functionally Graded Structures,” summarized the latest developments in advanced functionally graded materials and structures with applications in the aerospace area.

Marzocca has also served as an associate editor of the Taylor & Francis Journal of Thermal Stresses since 2008, and is on the editorial board of several other journals.

Prof. Joseph DuemerDuemer Honored with Poetry Award

Humanities Professor Joseph Duemer has received the 2011 Poetry Award from the American Literary Review.

In addition to a cash prize, Duemer’s poem “Lake Surface Full of Clouds” will appear in the spring 2012 edition of the American Literary Review.

Duemer’s scholarly and creative interests include contemporary American poetry, translation of Vietnamese poetry, and emerging online literary genres. He is the former poetry editor of The Wallace Stevens Journal.

His poems have appeared in many literary journals over the years, including the Iowa Review, The Georgia Review, the New England Review, American Poetry Review, Southern Poetry Review, the Tampa Review, and The Sun.

Prof. Philip K. HopkeHopke Named a World Bank Air Quality Consultant

Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor Philip K. Hopke, director of Clarkson’s Institute for a Sustainable Environment and director of Clarkson’s Center for Air Resources Engineering & Science (CARES), has been named a World Bank air quality consultant to the Ministry of the Environment in the People’s Republic of Bangladesh.

Hopke will work to strengthen the institutional and regulatory framework and capacity for building the air quality management in Bangladesh. Together with the local air quality management consultant, he will support implementation of the environmental component of the World Bank’s Clean Air and Sustainable Environment Project.

Three Clarkson professors are Fulbright Scholars25 Clarkson Faculty members have been named Fulbright Scholars in the last 25 years.