Ultra-Fine Grain Nickel by Electrodeposition

Professor David Morrison and Chair / Professor John Moosbrugger of the Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering have begun a project on the processing, microstructure and mechanical properties of ultra-fine grain nickel. Sub-micron grain size nickel is being produced by electrodeposition (ED) and the effects of current density, electrolyte composition, temperature, and current pulsing are being examined using a standard Ni sulfanate plating process. Specimens are being produced with sub-micron grain sizes using current pulsing. Sections of electrodeposited material have been successfully electron-beam-welded to standard polycrystal sections to produce "billets" large enough for machining fatigue specimens. Some fatigue tests have been conducted. Metallography has verified grain sizes and material integrity (there is no metallographic evidence of microvoids) and grain morphology. Chemical analyses show no significant contaminants in the bulk. Reverse magnetostriction (rotation of magnetization due to stress reversals and associated magnetostriction strain) in the ED material is also similar to the previously tested fine grain material. The fatigued ED material had very fine, intragranular persistent slip bands. Fatigue cracks that developed in the gage section were intergranular. Stress levels were initially much higher (perhaps a factor of 5) than initial stress levels for conventional fine or coarse grain material tested at similar plastic strain amplitudes.

Research Using Welding Systems

Dr. Daryush K. Aidun (a CAMP Professor with expertise in Materials Engineering & the Joining of Materials) is developing a fusion welding system equipped with an electromagnet for joining dissimilar metals/alloys with improved joint efficiency and quality. The effect of electromagnetic force in the weld pool will result in better fluid flow/mixing, higher penetration, finer solidification grain structure, and flawless dissimilar welds. In addition, he is designing a technique to produce metal matrix composites of Al and Ti, reinforced with titanium aluminides (TiAl), to significantly improve the elevated temperature mechanical properties of the composites.

Carbon-Based Nanostructured Materials

Dr. Benjamin Dorfman recently joined CAMP as a Research Professor in the University's Department of Physics. He conducts theoretical and experimental research in the following novel areas: Stabilized non-equilibrium solids with hierarchical atomic arrangement; Synergetic thermal-impact activation of surface reactions and synthesis of synergetic forms of solid state (particularly with synergetic carbon); carbon-carbon and metal-carbon composites of atomic-scale; and in synthesis, structures and non-classical physical properties. Various commercial and military applications of these novel families of carbon-based nanostructured materials are under development in cooperation with Clarkson University and NanoDynamics. Dr. Dorfman also develops new advanced structured composite devices under an agreement between Clarkson University and Apex Corporation.


CAMP Annual Technical Meeting

CAMP's Annual Technical Meeting was held May 12-14, 2004 at the Canandaigua Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York.. The very successful meeting had over 100 attendees including representatives of Industry, University and New York State Economic Development Organizations. A reception was hosted by Ferro Electronic Material Systems (a Corporate Sponsor of CAMP). The keynote speakers included Robert Callender (Vice President of Programs, NYSERDA) and Dr. Marijn Dekkers (President and CEO, ThermoElectron). Mr. Callender's keynote address was entitled "Opportunities for Research and Development for Advanced Materials." The title of the keynote address presented by Dr. Dekkers was "Analyze This."

This year's meeting had a record number of poster presentations on CAMP research. They were judged in three categories: most attractive, most creative, and best overall. Certificates were presented by CAMP's Dr. Dana Barry to the first, second, and third place winners of each category. The judges were Dr.Jitendra Balakrishnan (Corning), Dr. Patricia Burns (Xerox), Eric Grald (Fluent), and Dana Zagari (Ferro). The winners are listed below.

Best Overall Poster :

First Place: "Chemical-Mechanical Polishing of Copper Using Molybdenum Dioxide Slurry" Authors are Professor Babu and Sharath Hegde

Second Place: "Surfactant Vesicle Based Abrasive Free Copper Chemical-Mechanical Planarization" Authors are Professor Babu, Youngki Hong, Udaya Patri, and Sharath Hegde

Third Place:"Investigation of Surface Adsorption Behavior in a Model CMP Slurry" Authors are Professor Li, Dr. William America, Fadwa Odeh, and Sameer Dhane

Most Attractive Poster

First Place: "Morphological Effects on Hydrogen Storage in Palladium Nanoparticulates" Authors are J. A. Nelson, S. Kishore, J. H. Adair, and P. C. Eklund (Pennsylvania State University)

Second Place: "Preparation of Ag & Ag-Pd Nanoparticles by Chemical Methods" Authors are Professor Goia, Myung-Sub Kim, Sun-Min Park, and Chris Eastman

Third Place: "Pollutant Transport in Street Canyons" Authors are Professor Ahmadi and Kambiz Nazridoust

Most Creative Poster

First Place: "Initiator Modification and Polymer Grafting from Titania Nanoparticles" Authors are Professor Shipp and Brian Lowes

Second Place: "Non-Contact Adhesion Measurements of Microspheres" Authors are Professor Cetinkaya and MD Murthy Peri

Third Place: "Synthesis of a Mixed Metal Oxide having Potential for Enhancing Lighting Efficiency" Authors are Professor Partch and T. Tannahill


Go to Page :