Clarkson University's Professor Philip K. Hopke (the Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering) receives the gavel and the leadership of the American Association of Aerosol Research (AAAR) from Outgoing President Susanne Hering, owner of Aerosol Dynamics, Inc. Professor Hopke became AAAR president at the organization's national meeting held recently in California.

CAMP Professor Philip Hopke Becomes President of the American Association for Aerosol Research

Professor Philip K. Hopke, the Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry and director of the Center for Air Resources Engineering and Science (CARES) at Clarkson University, became president of the American Association for Aerosol Research (AAAR) at its recent national meeting in Anaheim, California. He is completing a three-year cycle that began with his election as vice-president of the organization.

The AAAR is the world's largest nonprofit professional society for scientists and engineers working in aerosol science and technology. The association promotes technical advances in the field of aerosol research and fosters the exchange of information among members and with other disciplines through conferences, symposia, and professional journals.

Professor Hopke is an internationally renowned expert on airborne pollution who has received close to $10 million in external research funding. He is the director and driving force behind CARES, a major interdisciplinary research center established at Clarkson last year to foster research in air sampling and analysis, receptor modeling, atmospheric deposition, and the application of computational fluid dynamics to air pollution problems.

CARES is a founding member of the New York Environmental Quality Systems Center, a network of 12 research institutions, which received a $15-million grant from the New York State Office of Science, Technology and Academic Research (NYSTAR).

Last year, Professor Hopke was reappointed chair of the Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee (CASAC) of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) until 2004. CASAC is responsible for reviewing the scientific basis for air quality standards covering the major pollutants (particles, ozone, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides and lead). Currently the committee is reviewing the problem of airborne particulate matter, ozone regulations and the overall EPA air quality management strategy.

In addition Professor Hopke serves on the Research Strategies Advisory Committee (which is a committee of the Science Advisory Board of the EPA) and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Committees on Air Quality Management in the United States and on Research Priorities for Airborne Particulate Matter.

New Book on Surface and Colloid Science Edited by Professor Egon Matijevic'

Professor Egon Matijevic' , in collaboration with Professor Michal Borkovec, edited Volume 17 of the series Surface and Colloid Science published by Kluwer Academic / Plenum Publishers in December of 2003. This is the latest volume of a comprehensive treatise on surface and colloid science, which consists of chapters written by specialists who describe theories, systems, and processes in this discipline. This series is the only encyclopedic work of its kind that has continued to be published since its inception in 1969. The latest book includes topics such as "Magnetic Particles: Preparation, Properties and Applications" by Masataka Ozaki, "Maghemite ( g -Fe2O3): A Versatile Magnetic Colloidal Material" by C. J. Serna and M. P. Morales, "Dynamics of Adsorption and Oxidation of Organic Molecules on Illuminated Titanium Dioxide Particles Immersed in Water" by Miguel A. Blesa, Roberto J. Candal and Sara A. Bilmes, "Colloidal Aggregations in Two-Dimensions" by A. Moncho-Jordá, F. Martinez-López, M. Quesada-Pérez, M.A. Cabrerizo-Vílchez and R. Hidalgo-Álvarez and "Kinetics of Particle and Protein Adsorption" by Zbigniew Adamczyk.