Background Image

CAMP June Newsletter: Page 2

In this Section
 Professors Matijevic' and Babu Are Authors of Highly Cited Article continued from page1


Dr. Matijevic' Dr. Babu

Professor Egon Matijevic' (the Victor K. LaMer Chair of Colloid and Surface Science at Clarkson University)


Distinguished University Professor and CAMP Director S.V. Babu


Professor Egon Matijevic’ has worked with colloids for many years and established a colloid laboratory at Clarkson in 1957.  In 1965 he was instrumental in forming Clarkson’s Institute of Colloid and Surface Science, the first of its kind in the United States. Professor Matijevic’, who is internationally known in the field of colloids, has many prestigious awards. Some of them include the American Chemical Society’s (ACS) Ralph K. Iler Award in the Chemistry of Colloidal Materials in 1993, the Langmuir Distinguished Lecturer Award of the ACS Colloid Division in 1985, and the ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry (Kendall Award) in 1972.  Also in 1985 he was honored by the Kolloid Gesellschaft in Berlin with the Thomas Graham Medal, which is the highest recognition of the oldest colloid society in the world.

Distinguished University Professor S.V. Babu is an expert in the field of Chemical –Mechanical Planarization. He has 27 patents and over 230 professional publications. He co-organized many symposia, served as a Keynote Speaker numerous times, and supervised 35 Ph.D. students. He has a variety of awards including the 2004 IBM Faculty Award. Also he was honored in 2010, with a Visiting Professorship by the Chinese Academy of Sciences.     



Ephesus Technologies joins CAMP as a new Corporate Member.

Next Page




CAMP’s Annual Technical Meeting continued from page1

This successful meeting was well attended and had many excellent poster presentations on CAMP research. The posters were judged in three categories: most attractive, most creative, and best overall. Certificates and ribbons were presented by Dr. Robert Villetto (Process Engineering Manager, Albany Nanotech, IBM Corporation) to the first, second, and third place winners of each category.  Details of the meeting will be included in CAMP’s Annual Report (September 2011) Newsletter.