Page 2

New Medical Book Edited by Professor Egon Matijevic' and Authored by CAMP Professors Research and Technology Continued from page 1

Another significant aspect of the drug in the pill form is the morphology of the active molecules, which affects many properties of the medication. Some medically active compounds tend to form polymorphs. Polymorphs are crystalline materials that have the same chemical composition but different molecular packing, which determines their functionality. Therefore, it is of great importance to produce drug delivery systems such as pills that contain the active compound in the stable state and assure its controlled delivery. Clarkson professors are involved in this type of research. See Figure 1. Fine Particles in Medicine and Pharmacy discusses particle size, shape, and composition and how they determine the choice of polymorph of a drug.

In the first chapter, Vladimir Privman addresses the advancement of modeling approaches aimed at explaining morphological and geometrical features of fine particles. In the second chapter, Egon Matijevic' demonstrates that uniform drug dispersions can be prepared by precipitation in solutions.

The chapter by Silvana Andreescu, Maryna Onatska, Joseph Erlichman, Ana Estevez, and J.C. Leiter, focuses on the interactions of nanoparticles of metal oxides with cells and tissues in relation to physico-chemical properties, biocompatibility, and cytotoxic reflexes in model biological systems and selected biomedical applications.

The chapter by Dan Goia and Tapan Sau provides a comprehensive review of uniform colloidal gold as applied in medicine and biology. In their chapter, Evgeny Katz and Marcos Pita deal with magnetic particles which are extensively used as labeling units and immobilization platforms in various biosensing schemes especially for immunosensing and DNA analysis.

The focus of the chapter by Devon Shipp and Broden Rutherglen is on the degradable polymer particles in drug delivery applications, based on their architectural design. Artem Melman's contribution describes an innovative method for the preparation of uniform nanoproteins, which involves their growth on monodispersed protein templates.

The chapter by Philip K. Hopke and Zuocheng Wang deals with the delivery and the effectiveness of medicine dosages deposited in the respiratory tract.

The chapter by Maria Hepel and Magdalena Stobiecka describes new bioanalytical sensing platforms based on functionalized nanoparticles, for the detection of biomarkers of oxidative stress. Sergiy Minko's chapter discusses the development and applications of stimuli-responsive colloids.

In the final chapter, Richard Partch, Adrienne Stamper, Evon Ford, Abeer Al Bawab and Fadwa Odeh, deal with the incidence of overdoses of chemicals into the body, causing either serious injury to organs or even death.


Fig 1A        Fig 1B

Figure 1. Scanning electron micrographs (SEM) of (A) commercial cyclosporine powder, and (B) particles obtained by rapidly adding in an ultrasonic bath 4 cm3 of water (pH 6.5) into 2 cm3 of a 0.03 mol dm-3 solution of the drug in ethanol.

Symposium in Honor of Professor Egon Matijevic´’s 90th Birthday to be Held at the ACS National Meeting: August 19-23, 2012 in Philadelphia

A special event at the American Chemical Society's National Meeting (under the auspices of the ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry) will be held in honor of Professor Egon Matijevic's 90th birthday. It is titled "Half a Century of Fine Particles Science: A Symposium in Honor of Egon Matijevic at 90." This symposium will take place in Philadelphia, PA (August 19-23, 2012). For his outstanding contributions to the field of colloid science, Professor Matijevic has received the most prestigious awards bestowed by his peers, most notably, the Kendall Award, the Thomas Graham Award, the Iler Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry, the Langmuir Distinguished Lectureship, the Kolloid Gisellschaft Award (Germany), the Bozo Tezak Medal (Croatian Chemical Sciences), and a Gold Medal from the American Electroplaters Society. The organizing committee for this special event includes Professors S.V. Babu, Dan Goia, Sergiy Minko, and Richard E. Partch of Clarkson University, Dr. Leszek Hozer of the Dow Chemical Company, and Dr. Ronald S. Sapieszko.


Back to Main Newsletter page