A Clarkson Mosaic - page 516

through the latest best-sellers. It continued to serve as the official Clarkson bookstore by
providing all the necessary textbooks for Clarkson students.
Founded by John R. Weston in 1890, Weston's Bookstore became an informal
headquarters for Clarkson students. They visited the store to hear the latest gossip and to jot
down any news they might wish to have known in the Tech Register, large register-type
volumes currently stored in the Clarkson archives. Weston, a Clarkson Trustee, left the store to
his nephew, Murray Walker, in the mid-1920s, who, in turn, gave it to Clarkson in the early
ECAC Hockey Champs.
Owning a 6-8-4 record on January 16, the Golden Knights turned
their record on its ear, and by posting a 12-1-1 mark for the remainder of the season, entered the
ECAC semifinal round at Lake Placid in mid-March. Especially encouraging to the Knights
were their two victories over arch rival SLU in the quarterfinal round 3-1 and 5-3, which
elevated them to their fourth straight semifinal round appearance.
For the first time in the tournament's history, the championship round was not held in
Boston, but instead at the Lake Placid Olympic Arena. Finding the big ice surface of the Arena
to their liking, Clarkson skaters defeated second seed RPI 5-3 in the opening round on March
19, and then defeated a hard-fighting Brown squad, which had reached the semifinals for the
first time since 1976 by defeating top seed Harvard in the other semifinal contest.
This Golden Knights' 3-1 victory over Brown marked Clarkson's second tournament
championship in three years, and their third crown in history. Their dreams of a national crown
faded a week later when Minnesota defeated them 2-1 in the first round of the NCAA East
Regional in Worcester, Mass. Despite that loss, the team posted its fourth straight 20-win
season with a 20-10-5 record overall.
Seven seniors contributed heavily to this record: Steve Dubinsky and Martin
d'Orsonnens, who served as co-captains in this fourth year; Hugo Belanger, Dave Green, Chris
Rogles, Guy Sanderson, and Mikko Tavi all skated their hearts out to earn this outstanding
Student President.
Sponsored by the Clarkson Ambassadors, this contest sold for one dollar
the chance for the winner to switch places for a day with the University's chief executive,
Richard Gallagher.
Brian W. Pasiak '93 won the right this year to change places on March 30. Seated in the
president's office in Snell Hall, Pasiak spent the day meeting with deans and vice presidents,
tackling topics like admissions, University finances, and long-range planning. He said he found
these meetings informative, and concluded:
People told me a few things about Clarkson I didn't know. This experience changed my attitude
about his job. The president has got vital, important issues weighing on his shoulders every day.
A. George Davis Retired.
Serving Clarkson for 40 years, Prof. A. George Davis retired from a
career of laudatory service to Clarkson and its students. In addition to being the only faculty
member to be honored three times as Outstanding Faculty Advisor, George served Clarkson as
an assistant and associate professor of mathematics, as chairman of the mathematics
department, as dean of student affairs, and as associate dean of science.
A graduate of Union College, George came to Clarkson in 1948 from five years'
teaching at the University of Massachusetts following his master's degree from Harvard in
1...,506,507,508,509,510,511,512,513,514,515 517,518,519,520,521,522,523,524,525,526,...643
Powered by FlippingBook