A Clarkson Mosaic - page 539

Following is a summary of Clarkson University at the end of the 1994-95 academic
year, its 100th year.
With a new president, Dr. Dennis Brown, just assuming office on July 1, 1995, the
facilities remain as they have been since 1992 when CAMP and the Cheel Student Center
opened. The campus is still physically divided. The Administration (president, executive vice
president, registrar, human resources, publications and public information), and the business
office remain in Snell Hall. Additionally, the Departments of Mechanical and Aeronautical
Engineering, and Electrical Engineering; the School of Business; the Faculty of Liberal Studies;
and the Department of Technical Communications are still in Old Main, Clarkson Hall, Snell
Hall, and the Liberal Studies Center on the original downtown campus.
The other segments of the University are on the hill campus: the Departments of
Biology, Math and Computer Science, Physics, Chemistry, Psychology, Chemical Engineering,
Civil Engineering, and Interdisciplinary Engineering and Management; all the residences,
sports and recreational facilities, the student center, admission offices, alumni affairs office,
career development, library and computing center. However, plans are actively underway to
locate all of the University on the Hill as soon as possible.
Undergraduate programs lead to the degrees of Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of
Professional Studies. The Graduate School offers programs leading to the Master of Science in
chemical, civil, electrical and mechanical engineering; engineering science, engineering and
manufacturing management, chemistry, physics, computer science, mathematics, and
management systems. Also offered is the Master of Engineering degree in the four engineering
disciplines on campus; the Master of Business Administration also is offered. The Doctor of
Philosophy degree is offered in chemical, civil and environmental, electrical and computer, and
mechanical engineering; in chemistry, physics, and mathematics; and in engineering science.
The Clarkson School, a division of the University, offers the Bridging Year, an early
admission opportunity for talented students who have completed their eleventh year of high
school and wish to begin college-level studies.
The Associated Colleges of the St. Lawrence Valley is a four-college consortium
composed of Clarkson, SUNY Potsdam, SUNY Canton, and St. Lawrence University in
Canton. More than 500 students cross-register for courses each year, and over one million
volumes of combined library holdings are readily available.
Sports programs include an NCAA Division I team in hockey and Division III varsity
teams in the following sports: men's and women's basketball, lacrosse, skiing, soccer,
swimming, and tennis; men's baseball and golf; and women's volleyball. The University is a
member of the NCAA, ECAC, UCAA, and the NYSWCAA.
Social organizations include sororities with chapters at Clarkson: Delta Zeta, Phi Mu,
and Phi Sigma Sigma. Fraternities include: Alpha Chi Rho, Alpha Epsilon Pi, Beta Tau, Chi
Phi, Delta Sigma Phi, Delta Upsilon, Kappa Alpha Psi, Omicron Pi Omicron, Phi Kappa Sigma,
Sigma Chi, Sigma Delta, Tau Epsilon Phi, Tau Kappa Epsilon, Theta Chi, and Zeta Nu.
Statistics: the 1994 fall term enrollment of 2,185 undergraduates and 335 graduate
students; a faculty of 174 full-time; an administrative, clerical, and maintenance staff of 399
people; and 28,157 living alumni. Total costs to attend for a year was $21,861 which included
1...,529,530,531,532,533,534,535,536,537,538 540,541,542,543,544,545,546,547,548,549,...643
Powered by FlippingBook