Background Image


In this Section

Visa Waiver Program (VWP)

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables most citizens or nationals of participating countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business without first obtaining a visa. The stay is limited to 90 days or less and travelers must have a valid Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA).

A complete list of the countries participating in the VWP is available from the U.S. Department of State

Note – Changes of status or extensions are not allowed.

Eligibility for VWP Status

Individuals must meet all of the following requirements to travel to the U.S. under the visa waiver program –

-        The purposes of your visit must be permitted on a visitor visa (B1/B2)

-        You must be a citizen or national from one of the allowable countries eligible to travel to the U.S. under the VWP

-        All travelers must have authorization under ESTA

-        All travelers must have an ‘e-passport’ embedded with an electronic chip and be valid for at least 6-months into the future