Background Image

A Letter from the Department Chair

In this Section

Dear Students, Prospective Students, Parents and Visitors:

The Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering (MAE) originally established in 1897, continues to build on the tradition of over 114 years of teaching and research excellence.

Our undergraduate and graduate enrollments have consistently increased over the years and the MAE Department is currently the largest on Clarkson’s campus. Beyond the class room, our students are involved with various hands on projects from their capstone design classes and SPEED (Student Projects for Engineering Experience and Design) competitions to research projects with a particular faculty mentor.

All of our graduates are required to take the Professional Experience for Engineers course (ES 499) to satisfy their graduation requirements. Students can do a co-op, summer internship in industry, summer research with faculty and/or participation in various car/snowmobile design projects sponsored by SPEED.

We are very fortunate that we have alumni/engineers with various industry and academic background on our Engineering Advisory Council (EAC), which is an integral part of the department. We continually encourage our alumni to participate with department’s activities, events, and collaborate with our faculty.

Senior faculty have consistently engaged in mentoring the junior faculty and as a result of it in the past five years we have had two assistant professors receiving NSF Career Awards.

The average annual external research funding of the department exceeds one million dollars, and the number of research/technical publications has grown significantly. Our faculty research areas are diverse ranging from wind/solar energy and smart grid to biomechanics, materials science, thermal/microfluidics, nanotechnology, and welding.

If you are a prospective student, I encourage you and your parents to visit our campus anytime that is convenient.

Daniel T. Valentine
Professor & Chair


Daniel T. Valentine
Professor & Chair