Background Image

News & Events


700 Clarkson University Students Graduate

Potsdam, N.Y. – Nearly 700 students from 24 states, 16 countries and 52 of New York's counties were granted bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees at Clarkson University's Commencement today (May 17). Four thousand parents, relatives and friends attended the ceremony. The weekend was also marked by the commissioning of United States Army and Air Force officers on Saturday, May 16.

Receiving honorary degrees and making short speeches at the ceremony were Esther Dyson, chairman of EDventure Holdings and author of the recently published Release 2.0: A design for living in the digital age; Freeman J. Dyson, distinguished scientist, futurist and author of many books, including Disturbing the Universe; Rudolf Zahradnik, president of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic and professor of physical chemistry at Charles University in Prague; Roger W. Sant, chairman of the board of the AES Corporation and chair of the board of the World Wildlife Fund U.S.; and Frank M. Rotunno '56, president and founder of United Sales Concepts and Clarkson University trustee.

Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor Susan E. Powers of Potsdam was awarded the John W. Graham Jr. Faculty Research Award. This $1,500 research account is presented to "a faculty member who has shown promise in engineering, management, liberal studies, or scientific research."

Operations and Production Management Professor Farzad Mahmoodi of Hannawa Falls was awarded the Clarkson University Distinguished Teaching Award. The $1,500 prize is given "in recognition of the importance of superior teaching" by nomination of alumni and by selection a faculty committee.

Chemistry Professor Josip Kratohvil and Liberal Arts Professor Charles F. O'Brien, both of Potsdam, were honored with Professor Emeritus status during the ceremony.

Senior Meighan O'Reardon of Chester, N.J., was given the Levinus Clarkson Award, and Katie Edwards of Binghamton, N.Y., was given the Frederica Clarkson Award. Both are $1,000 prizes, awarded by vote of the full faculty to "a student who demonstrates the best combination of scholarship and promise of outstanding professional achievement."

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed