Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson Junior Named Barry M. Goldwater Scholar

Michael J. Moravan, a junior majoring in chemistry at Clarkson University, has been named a recipient of the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. Moravan is only one of 309 students from the United States and Puerto Rico to receive the award.

Moravan of Rochester is the fifth Clarkson student in 11 years to win this honor.  Previous Clarkson winners include David M. Steele (physics/mathematics, 1997), Long T. Nguyen (mathematics, 1995), James Riordan (physics, 1994) and David Owen (chemistry, 1989).

Moravan will receive a one-year scholarship that will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

A Presidential Scholar for the past five semesters at Clarkson, Moravan is also a three-time winner of the Egon Matijevic Endowed Chemistry Scholarship and a winner of the Clarkson University Leadership Award.  Moravan says his career goal is to get a Ph.D. in organic chemistry and make significant contributions to the microelectronics field.

Named in honor of the late United States Senator from Arizona and 1964 Republican presidential candidate, the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering.  The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields.

This year’s Goldwater Scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of mathematics, science, and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide. 

In its twelve-year history, the Goldwater Foundation, a federally endowed agency, has awarded 3,021 scholarships worth approximately $31 million.

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed