Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson Army Rotc Captures First-ever Regional Ranger Challenge Title

[A photo for newspaper use is available at]

Clarkson University’s Army ROTC Ranger Challenge Team was crowned overall champion of the 2000 1st Brigade, First ROTC Region New England/New York Ranger Challenge competition held recently at Ft. Devens, Mass.

The win is Clarkson’s first in the competition, and it comes a year after Clarkson finished second overall. Boston University placed second and Siena College finished third.  rangers

The team of seven Clarkson University students and three SUNY Potsdam students captured first place in two of the competition’s eight demanding events—orienteering and the obstacle course—and placed no lower than fifth in the six remaining events: the Army Physical Fitness Test, rifle marksmanship, weapons assembly/disassembly, rope bridging, patrolling, and a 10-kilometer road march with full equipment.

Representing Clarkson University in the competition were: Robert J. Baker ’01, technical communications, Hilton, N.Y.; Andrew Bischoff ’01, civil engineering, Sparrow Bush, N.Y.; Adam A. Carollo ’02, business, Brewster, N.Y.; Mark F. DeSantis ’01, chemical engineering, Oswego, N.Y.; Jayme K. Hansen ’01, history, Fort Drum, N.Y.; Jason J. Lasher ’03, mechanical and aeronautical engineering, Potsdam, N.Y.; and Victor G. Philippi, ’02, chemistry, Tupper Lake, N.Y.

Participating on behalf of SUNY Potsdam were: Frank J. Bird ’01, history, Malone, N.Y.; John L. Hermanson, Jr. ’01, political science, Brownsville, N.Y.; and Patrick S. VanKirk ’03, history, Heuvelton, N.Y.

The 20-team field also included Cornell University, the University of Massachusetts, Northeastern University, Rochester Institute of Technology and Syracuse University.

PHOTO CAPTION: Members of the Clarkson University Army ROTC Ranger Challenge team present the 2000 1st Brigade, First ROTC Region New England/New York Ranger Challenge trophy to Clarkson University President Denny Brown (sixth from left) and SUNY Potsdam President John Fallon (sixth from right).

From left: Cadets Adam Carollo (Clarkson University), Frank Bird (SUNY Potsdam), Jason Lasher (Clarkson), Patrick VanKirk (SUNY), John Hermanson Jr. (SUNY), Andrew Bischoff (Clarkson), Robert Baker (Clarkson), Mark DeSantis (Clarkson), Victor Philippi (Clarkson) and Jayme Hansen (Clarkson). (Photo by Kierre L. Daniels, Clarkson University News Services.)

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed