Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson Student Named Goldwater Scholar

Clarkson University junior Thomas R. Hooper (Martville, N.Y.) has been selected to receive the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship for the 2002-2003 academic year from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. He is the eighth Clarkson student in 13 years to be named a Goldwater Scholar.

Hooper is one of 309 undergraduate students selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,155 mathematics, science and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide. The scholarship will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

“Thomas Hooper exemplifies the high level of achievement, talent and hard work that characterize Clarkson students,” said University Provost Tony Collins. “We are delighted the Goldwater Foundation has recognized his outstanding accomplishments.”

Hooper, a mechanical and aeronautical engineering major, plans to attend graduate school and pursue an advanced degree in mechanical engineering upon graduation from Clarkson at the end of 2003.

“The opportunities I have encountered at Clarkson have enhanced my education and opened doors to my professional future,” said Thomas Hooper. “In particular, I credit Professor David Craig, director of the Honors Program and my adviser, Professor Cetin Cetinkaya, with giving me the opportunity to get involved in undergraduate research and sparking my desire to learn and be challenged.”

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, and to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering.  Goldwater Scholars have impressive academic qualifications that have garnered the attention of post-graduate fellowship programs. Recent Goldwater Scholars have been awarded 44 Rhodes Scholarships (six of the 32 awarded in the United States in 2002), 39 Marshall Awards, and numerous other distinguished fellowships.

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed