Background Image

News & Events


Two Clarkson Students Among Elite Few Across Nation To Be Named Goldwater Scholars

[A photograph for newspaper use is available at jpg ]
Two Clarkson University students have been named among the nation's top undergraduates majoring in science, mathematics and engineering by theGoldwater 2003 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation for the 2003-04 academic year.

Junior Ryan Turner (Enfield, N.H.) and sophomore Nadeeka Yapa (Hannawa Falls) have each been chosen to receive the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. They are the ninth and tenth Clarkson students in 14 years to be named Goldwater Scholars.

This is a tremendous recognition of the academic success, talent and hard work of Ryan Turner and Nadeeka Yapa, said Clarkson Provost Anthony G. Collins. "It is gratifying to see Clarkson students once again compete successfully for this highly selective honor. It also demonstrates Clarkson's ability to attract and provide a fertile learning environment for some of the nation's best and brightest."

Ryan Turner is an outstanding student and would easily be in the top one percent of all the undergraduates I have taught over the last 19 years, said Gregory Campbell, professor of chemical engineering and Turner's research mentor. "He is a very diligent student who represents the best here at Clarkson."

Turner, a chemical engineering major in the Honors Program, maintains a 4.0 grade-point average and is a presidential scholar. He has worked as a research assistant and conducted original research on the effects of the injection molding process on the creep recovery of polymer parts.

Turner plans to attend graduate school to pursue an advanced degree in chemical engineering upon graduation from Clarkson in 2004. He credits Campbell, the Clarkson Honors program and Honors Director David Craig for laying the foundation that led to this achievement.

The Honors Program has given me great opportunities to really get excited about learning, participate in research and make strong connections with my fellow students, Turner explained.

She currently works as an assistant on a research project on chaos in power systems in the laboratory of Pragasen Pillay, Jean Newell Distinguished Professor in Engineering at Clarkson. Yapa has recently submitted a paper jointly with Pillay to the IEEE Transactions on Power Systems, the premier journal in the field of electrical engineering.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, and to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields.

Goldwater Scholars have impressive academic qualifications that have garnered the attention of post-graduate fellowship programs. Recent Goldwater Scholars have been awarded 50 Rhodes Scholarships (six of the 32 awarded in the United States in 2003), 55 Marshall Awards (eight of the 40 awarded in the United States in 2003), and numerous other distinguished fellowships.

PHOTO CAPTION: Clarkson University students Ryan Turner and Nadeeka Yapa have been named among the nation's top undergraduates by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. Front row (left to right): Turner's faculty mentor, Gregory Campbell, professor of chemical engineering, and Yapa. Back row: Turner, and Yapa's faculty mentor, Pragasen Pillay, Jean Newell Distinguished Professor in Engineering.

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed