Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson Professor Philip Hopke Appointed President Of American Association For Aerosol Research

[A photo of for newspaper use is available at]

Philip K. Hopke, Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry and director of the Center for Air Resources Engineering and Science (CARES) at Clarkson University, became president of the American Association for Aerosol Research (AAAR) at its recent national meeting in Anaheim, Calif. He is completing a three-year cycle that began with his election as vice-president elect, after which he served as vice president of the organization.aaar

The AAAR is the world’s largest nonprofit professional society for scientists and engineers working in aerosol science and technology. The association promotes technical advances in the field of aerosol research and fosters the exchange of information among members and with other disciplines through conferences, symposia, and publication of a professional journal.

Hopke is an internationally renowned expert on airborne pollution who has received close to $10 million in external research funding. 

He is the director and driving force behind CARES, a major interdisciplinary research center established at Clarkson last year to foster research in air sampling and analysis, receptor modeling, atmospheric deposition, and the application of computational fluid dynamics to air pollution problems.

CARES is a founding member of the New York Environmental Quality Systems Center, a network of 12 research institutions, which received a $15-million grant from New York’s Office of Science, Technology and Academic Research.

Last year, Hopke was reappointed chair of the Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee (CASAC) of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) until 2004. CASAC is responsible for reviewing the scientific basis for air quality standards covering the major pollutants (particles, ozone, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides and lead). Currently the committee is reviewing the problem of airborne particulate matter and reviewing ozone regulations and the overall EPA air quality management strategy.

Hopke also serves on the Research Strategies Advisory Committee, which is a committee of the Science Advisory Board of the EPA and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Committees on Air Quality Management in the United States and on Research Priorities for Airborne Particulate Matter.

Photo caption: Clarkson University’s Philip K. Hopke, Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, receives the gavel, and with it the leadership of the American Association of Aerosol Research (AAAR) from Outgoing President Susanne Hering, owner of Aerosol Dynamics, Inc. Hopke became AAAR president at the organization’s national meeting held recently in California.

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed