Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson Associate Dean For Health Sciences To Be Featured Speaker At American Physical Therapy Association Meeting

[A photograph for newspaper use is available at]

Samuel B. Feitelberg, professor and associate dean for the Center for Health Sciences and chair of the Physical Therapy Department at Clarkson University, has been invited to deliver the American Physical Therapy Association’s (APTA) prestigious 2004 Polly Cerasoli Lectureship.

Feitelberg will present the lecture on February 6 at APTA’s Combined Sections Meeting in Nashville, Tenn.feitelberg

Feitelberg’s lecture, “The Influence of Leaders,” will explore how leaders have sustained and nurtured the physical therapy profession and the important role leaders play in educating and developing successive generations of practitioners.

The Polly Cerasoli Lectureship is an annual event of the Combined Meetings Section honoring Pauline “Polly” Cerasoli, PT, Ed.D., a distinguished educator with a 40-year career in physical therapy.  Recipients of the lectureship are recognized leaders, educators and practitioners in the field.

Feitelberg joined the faculty of Clarkson in 1997 to establish the Department of Physical Therapy, which was accredited in 2001.

He received an undergraduate degree (1952) from Columbia University, a certificate in physical therapy (1953) from Columbia’s College of Physicians and Surgeons, and a master’s degree (1954) from Columbia University Teachers College. He also holds a certificate in health administration from the Harvard University Graduate School of Medicine.

From 1954-56, he served in the U.S. Army Medical Specialist Corps assigned to Walter Reed Army Hospital as a staff physical therapist. He began his academic career in 1959 as an instructor in the Physical Therapy Program at Columbia University and coordinator of physical and occupational therapy at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center.  He went on to establish and head up three academic programs in physical therapy:  Downstate Medical Center, SUNY Brooklyn in 1965; the University of Vermont in 1971 (where he remained until 1996 when he was awarded the title of Professor Emeritus); and Clarkson University.

Feitelberg has been an active member of APTA since 1953, serving as president of the Section for Education (1986-89); a member of the Nominating Committee (1986-89); and a member of the Board of Directors (1990-93).  In 1997 he was named a Catherine Worthingham Fellow by APTA. He is also the recipient of the Lucy Blair Service Award in 1983, the Vermont Chapter Distinguished Service Award in 1990 and 1997, and the Diversity 2000 Award in 1996.

In 1998, Feitelberg’s professional achievements were recognized by the University of Vermont with the dedication of a new Physical Therapy Learning Resource Center named in his honor.

APTA is a national professional organization representing more than 63,000 members. Its goal is to foster advancements in physical therapy practice, research, and education.
[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed