Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson Professor Philip Hopke's Pioneering Work In Aerosol Science Recognized With Prestigious Professional Award

[A photograph for newspaper use is available at]

Philip K. Hopke, Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry and director of the Center for Air Resources Engineering and Science (CARES) at Clarkson University, has received the prestigious David Sinclair Award from the American Association for Aerosol Research (AAAR), the world’s largest professional society for scientists and engineers working in aerosol science and technology.

Hopke received the award at the 23rd Annual AAAR Conference held this week in Atlanta. hopke

Established in 1988 to memorialize one of aerosol science’s greatest innovators, The David Sinclair Award recognizes sustained excellence in aerosol research and technology by an established scientist still active in his/her career. The recipient’s research must also be recognized as making a lasting impact on aerosol science.

Hopke is an internationally renowned expert on airborne pollution who has received over $10 million in external research funding. 

He is the director and driving force behind CARES, a major interdisciplinary research center established at Clarkson two years ago to foster research in air sampling and analysis, receptor modeling, atmospheric deposition, and the application of computational fluid dynamics to air pollution problems.

CARES is a founding member of the New York Environmental Quality Systems Center, a network of 12 research institutions, which received a $15 million grant from New York’s Office of Science, Technology and Academic Research.

Hopke served as chair of the Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee (CASAC) of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) until this year. CASAC is responsible for reviewing the scientific basis for air quality standards covering the major pollutants (particles, ozone, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxides and lead). Under Hopke, the committee reviewed the problem of airborne particulate matter and reviewing ozone regulations and the overall EPA air-quality management strategy.

Hopke became the AAAR president at the organization’s 2003 national meeting in Anaheim, Calif. He is completing a three-year cycle that began with his election as vice-president elect, after which he served as vice president of the organization.

Hopke also serves as a member of the Science Advisory Board of the EPA and was a member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Committees on Air Quality Management in the United States and on Research Priorities for Airborne Particulate Matter.
[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed