Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson Business Students Win Top Award at International Conference

[A photograph for newspaper use is available at]

Orlando, Florida -- A team of Clarkson University students, members of the Collegiate Entrepreneurs Organization (CEO), walked off with top honors at the organization's international conference in Orlando. Collegiate Entrepreneurs Organization

The 17 members of the Clarkson chapter of CEO were designated the Most Outstanding Chapter for 2005-06, the organization's highest honor. Clarkson University in Potsdam, New York, was one of 175 universities represented at the annual conference October 27-31 at the Sheraton World Resort in Orlando.

In addition, Jon Parry, a Clarkson junior from Baldwinsville, New York, finished fourth in competition with 70 other students to develop the best "elevator speech" -- pitching the best business idea in less than two minutes.

"We congratulate the 17 students that traveled to Orlando and made tremendous presentations," said Mike Wasserman, associate dean of undergraduate programs and administration at Clarkson. "We congratulate CEO Club President Kelly Whiting for her leadership, Marc Compeau, director of Entrepreneurial Programs and Club advisor for his guidance, and faculty and staff on helping to create a learning environment where students can span academic boundaries and develop innovative and global perspectives about business. These awards reflect Clarkson's efforts to create an environment that is collaborative, rigorous and entrepreneurial."

Whiting is a junior from Wellesley Island. Other members of the team who competed in Orlando are: Matt Jackman, a junior from Vergennes, Vt.; Caresse Duford, junior from Clayton, N.Y.; Ryan Joy, senior from Fort Ann, N.Y.; Kurt West, junior from Portland, ME.; James Mullen, junior from Bloomingburg, N.Y.; Leah Murphy, sophomore from North Olmsted, Ohio; Rafaela Messmer, sophomore from Camden, N.Y.; Matt Ruby, sophomore from Rochester, N.Y.; Justin Groden, sophomore from Rochester, N.Y.; Daniel Struebel, sophomore from West Falls, N.Y.; Jenn Quinn, sophomore from Camden, N.Y.; Erin Lloyd, junior from Norwich, N.Y.; Max Dragoon, sophomore from Norwich, N.Y.; Kerri Benzenberg, freshman from Ferndale, N.Y.; and Bridget Spooner, freshman from Canton, N.Y.

The Clarkson chapter of CEO has 90 members and its members include students not only studying business but also enrolled in engineering and arts and sciences.

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed