Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson Concrete Canoe Team Wins at Regionals - Headed to Nationals

[A photograph for media use is available at]

Clarkson University's Concrete Canoe 'Archimedes' sped past the entries of civil engineering students from seven rival universities throughout New York state and Canada to capture first place in this year's Upstate New York Regional Conference of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Concrete Canoe Competition. The event was hosted by Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT), April 28 -29. Concrete Canoe

Teams from Clarkson University, Cornell University, Ecole de Technologie Superieure in Montreal, Rochester Institute of Technology, University at Buffalo, U.S. Military Academy at West Point, University of Ottawa, and Hudson Valley Community College participated in the competition. Teams are judged during the competition on their technical paper, technical presentation, final product and races. The Clarkson Concrete Canoe Team has participated in the ASCE Upstate NY Regional Concrete Canoe Competition since 1995.

Clarkson team members included: senior Brian M. Ayres, sophomore Benjamin E. Brown-Steiner, junior Quinn R. Carnahan, senior Marcus D. Curran, junior Scott R. Davis junior Jesse B. Glasser, senior Jared E. Grosek, senior Patrick D. Howard Jr., junior Joseph J. Hudach, senior Justin M. Ricci, junior Adam R. Taddonio, junior Katie M. Trowbridge, junior Elizabeth A. Urban, senior Lindsey A. Walthers and senior Christopher J. Wisniewski.

The team was led by Justin Ricci and Marcus Curran. Clarkson University's team, grouped into a mold construction team and concrete design team, successfully designed and fabricated Archimedes from September 2005 through April 2006. On April 27, the canoe was transported to Rochester, New York, to face competition and judging at R.I.T. The team took first place in the oral presentation and men's endurance race, and finished second in the design paper competition, aesthetics and several races (co-ed sprint, women's endurance, men's sprint). Walthers, Urban and Trowbridge participated in the women's races. Curran, Wisniewski and Ricci participated in the men's races. However, the entire team was invaluable in designing and building the canoe, as well as during the competition.

The Overall Win by Clarkson was the result of a first-place finish in the Men's Endurance Competition by Curran, Ricci and Wisniewski; a first-place finish by Wisniewski and Trowbridge in the Presentation competition; and a second-place finish by Wisniewski and Curran in the Men's Sprint. Walthers, Trowbridge and Urban took second place in the Women's Endurance; and Wisniewski, Ricci, Walthers and Trowbridge finished second in the Coed Sprint.

Team members credited the success of their concrete canoe with its more buoyant and durable design and the unceasing determination and hard work by the entire team from September 2005 all the way to competition.

By winning the regional, the team earned the right to represent the Upstate New York Conference at the 19th annual National Concrete Canoe Competition, hosted by Oklahoma State University, June 15 - 17, in Stillwater, Oklahoma. A win there would mean a $5,000 academic scholarship to Clarkson's undergraduate civil engineering program. The second-place overall team receives a $2,500 scholarship and the third-place team will take home a scholarship worth $1,500. Plaques are also presented for first through fifth overall placement and for best design paper, best oral presentation, best final product, men's slalom/endurance race, women's slalom/endurance race, and men's sprint race.

Team members include: (L to R back row) Professor Ayman Ababneh, sophomore Benjamin E. Brown-Steiner, senior Christopher J. Wisniewski, senior Patrick D. Howard Jr., junior Scott R. Davis, senior Jared E. Grosek, junior Adam R. Taddonio, junior Quinn R. Carnahan, junior Joseph J. Hudach, junior Elizabeth A. Urban, junior Katie M. Trowbridge.

Front row (L to R): senior Marcus D. Curran, senior Justin M. Ricci.

Not in photo: Senior Brian M. Ayres, junior Jesse B. Glasser, senior Lindsey A. Walthers.

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed