Background Image

News & Events


Lehigh University Presents Distinguished Civil and Environmental Engineer Award to Clarkson University President

[A photograph for media use is available at]

Dr. Anthony G. Collins, president of Clarkson University, was presented the 2006 Lynn S. Beedle Award at Lehigh University's 71st annual Fritz Engineering Research Society (FERS) Banquet on Saturday, Feb. 3.

Collins was recognized for his accomplishments in advancing engineering education and as a leader in higher education. He began his academic career at Clarkson University as a professor and researcher in environmental engineering, advanced to department chair, dean of engineering, provost and was appointed the University's president in 2003. tonycollins

The Fritz Engineering Research Society is a professional organization headquartered at the Fritz Engineering Research Laboratory at Lehigh University to promote experimental research in all areas of civil engineering.

The Lynn S. Beedle Award is named for the late professor of civil engineering at Lehigh University and founder of the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat. The award, endowed by gifts from the Civil and Environmental Engineering faculty at Lehigh University in 2003, is given annually to honor a Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineering graduate or faculty member for outstanding achievements in and contributions to the advancement of the field of Civil and Environmental Engineering in education, scholarship, professional leadership, industrial achievement, or a combination of these.

Lynn S. Beedle, the first recipient of this award, was world renowned for his global and sustained leadership, spanning six decades, in structural engineering, higher education, and for his visionary, international efforts to facilitate professional exchanges among those involved in all aspects of the planning, design, construction and operation of tall buildings and the urban habitat.

Previous Lynn S. Beedle Award recipients are Dr. Lynn S. Beedle, late professor emeritus, Lehigh University; Dr. George C. Lee, former Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at SUNY-Buffalo; and Dr. George J. Tamaro, partner, Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers, NYC, N.Y.

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed