Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson University Honors Employees for Years of Service

[A photograph for media use is available at g ]

Longtime Clarkson University employees were recently honored at a dinner for their service to the University. The following employees were recognized for their years of service:

Thirty-five years of service: Kathryn Johnson, Vice President University Outreach & Student Affairs; Jack Koplowitz, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Shankar Subramanian, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering. 25 years of service at Clarkson

Thirty years of service: Gayle Berry, Librarian, Library; Janet Demers-Emburey, Manager of Report Writing, Philanthropy Operations; Mark DeRitis, Associate Dean of Students; Sandra Harris, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering; Theodore Hintopoulos, Electronic Technician Supervisor, School of Engineering Lab; Levon Minnetyan, Professor/Associate Chair, Civil & Environmental Engineering; Don Rasmussen, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering; Robert Schilling, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Janice Searleman, Instructor, Mathematics & Computer Science; Rhonda Sharpe, Administrative Secretary, Civil and Environmental Engineering; James Svoboda, Professor/ Executive Officer, Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Claudette VanEss, Graphic Designer/Production Coordinator, Publications.

Twenty-five years of service: Ruth Baltus, Professor & Chair, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering; Timothy Bradish Jr., Maintenance Mechanic Carpenter, Building and Equipment Maintenance; Lisa Emburey, Senior Custodian, Custodial Services; Eugene Hendricks, Senior Technician, Office of Information Technology; Abul Khondker, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Ruth LaCombe, Administrative Secretary, Recreation; Mona Miller, OIT Team Lead, SOE, Office of Information Technology; Michael Rose, Senior Custodian, Custodial Services; Kelly Sharlow, Assistant to the Dean, Wallace H. Coulter School of Engineering; Daniel Valentine, Professor & Executive Officer, Mechanical & Aeronautical Engineering; and Poojitha Yapa, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering.

Twenty years of service: Lawrence Averill, Campus Safety & Security Officer, Campus Safety and Security; Lynn Bancroft, Manager of Payroll, Payroll Office; Susan Cutler, Office Administrator/Proofreader, Marketing & External Relations; Robert Dowman, Professor & Chair, Psychology; Joseph Duemer, Professor- Humanities, Humanities & Social Sciences; Daniel Dullea, Senior Communication Specialist, Center for Excellence in Communications; Stephen Farina, Professor & Chair, Communications & Media; Ronald LaFleur, Professor, Mechanical & Aeronautical; Michael Maguire, Director Intramurals & Aqua/Swim Coach, Athletics; and Steven Yurgartis, Professor, Mechanical & Aeronautical Engineering.

Fifteen years of service: Dana Barry, Senior Technical Writer, CAMP; James Carroll, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering; Catherine Clark, Director Student Support Services, Student Support Services; Susan Englert, Administrative Secretary, CSTEP; Sylvia Haq, Librarian, Library; Mary Chris Jones, SAS Representative, Student Administrative Service; and Ian Suni, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering.

Ten years of service: Joanne Felix, Senior Custodian, Custodial Services; Karen Fuhr, Assistant to the MBA Director, School of Business; Laura Ettinger, Professor- History, Humanities & Social Sciences; Thomas Holsen, Professor, Civil & Engineering; Mark Newton, Senior Custodian, Custodial Services; Donna Pelletier, Administrative Secretary, Counseling Services; Christopher Robinson, Professor- Pol. Sci., Humanities & Social Science; Penny Snow, Administrative Secretary, Career Center; Kenneth Visser, Professor, Mechanical & Aeronautical Engineering; Eileen Winters, Administrative Assistant, Wallace H. Coulter School of Engineering; and Sandra Zuhlsdorf, Director CUSB Student Support Center, School of Business.

Five years of service: Lonie Bogett , Senior Custodian, Custodial Services; Margaret Boysuk, Help Desk Support Representative, Office of Information Technology; Barbara Brady, Sr. Comm. Specialist/ Director Writing Center, Center for Excellence in Communication; Kelly Covert, Senior Departmental Secretary, CAMP; Shannon Desrosiers, Co-Head Women’s Ice Hockey Coach, Athletics; Trish Dobbs, Director, Transfer Admission; Gregory Drechsel, Associate Men’s Ice Hockey Coach, Athletics; John Frary, Maintenance Crew Supervisor, Building & Equipment Maintenance; Lorraine Harper, Administrative Secretary, Communication & Media; Jean-Francois Houle, Assistant Men’s Ice Hockey Coach, Athletics; George Kimble, Maintenance Mechanic Carpenter, Building & Equipment Maintenance; Constance Klingbeil, Administrative Secretary, Risk Management & Purchasing; Carol Newvine, Assistant to the Vice President, Philanthropy & Alumni Relations; Eric Oney, Maintenance Mechanic Carpenter, Building & Equipment Maintenance; Warren Powell, Maintenance Mechanic Electrician, Building & Equipment; George Roll, Head Hockey Coach, Athletics; Luke Rosenbarker, Maintenance Mechanic General, Building & Equipment; Marjorie Warden, Project Dir. Of CSTEP/McNair, CSTEP; and Mia Wick, Assistant to the Director of Admission, Admissions.

Clarkson University launches leaders into the global economy. One in six alumni already leads as a CEO, VP or equivalent senior executive of a company. Located just outside the Adirondack Park in Potsdam, N.Y., Clarkson is a nationally recognized research university for undergraduates with select graduate programs in signature areas of academic excellence directed toward the world’s pressing issues. Through 50 rigorous programs of study in engineering, business, arts, sciences and health sciences, the entire learning-living community spans boundaries across disciplines, nations and cultures to build powers of observation, challenge the status quo, and connect discovery and engineering innovation with enterprise.

PHOTO CAPTION: Clarkson University President Tony Collins congratulates some of the employees reaching their 25-year milestone. Faculty and staff were recently honored for their years of service at a recognition dinner on campus. Left to right: Lisa Emburey, senior custodian, Custodial Services; Tim Bradish, Jr., maintenance mechanic carpenter, Building and Equipment Maintenance; Ruth LaCombe, administrative secretary, Recreation; Collins; Poojitha Yapa, professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering; and Abul Khondker, professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering.

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed