Background Image

News & Events


Great Lakes Researchers Skate to Support Scholarships at Annual Defy Cup Hockey Challenge

The recent International Association for Great Lakes Research conference brought together more than 1,000 participants in Detroit, Mich.

Defy CupThere, IAGLR Team USA hosted IAGLR Team Canada on ice to vie for the Defy Cup. The teams met for the eighth time since 2008.

In 2016, IAGLR Team USA made a definite mark by skating two consecutive Defy Cup victories, yet IAGLR Team Canada responded this year with a 5-4 victory to extend its overall record to 4-2-2.  

The "Defy Cup" is a trophy created from Potsdam Sandstone and Adirondack maple and is donated by Clarkson University President Tony Collins. Clarkson University has 96 years of tradition playing collegiate hockey and the Defy Cup befits this initiative.

The event raised $1,243 to support the IAGLR Scholarship, a merit based award given annually by the association to a doctoral student showing great research promise.

Defy Cup Group Photo"This year we raised the most funds ever, due in large part to a donation from the Central Michigan University Institute for Great Lakes," said Michael Twiss, the annual organizer of the fund-raising game and current vice president of IAGLR.

"Like the U.S. congressional baseball game, it is a good thing to show people that lawmakers and scientists are human just like them and love games like baseball and hockey," said Donald Uzarski, the director of the CMU Great Lakes Institute and a regular participant in the annual Defy Cup.

Central Michigan University's Institute for Great Lakes Research takes a multidisciplinary approach to understanding the complex environmental issues affecting the Great Lakes basin and is committed to promoting and facilitating collaborative research and education on the Great Lakes.

IAGLR is made up of researchers primarily focused on understanding and protecting the Great Lakes St. Lawrence River ecosystem. These waters have been shared by Canada and the United States formally since the formation of the Boundary Waters Treaty in 1909. Since the waters are shared equally, the two IAGLR teams share players in order to make the game as equal as possible.

IAGLR Team Canada players coached by Mark McCarthy (Wright State University) were: Brett Allen (University of Toronto), Vern Bingman (Bowling Green State University), Matthew Child (International Joint Commission), Tej Heer (University of Toronto), Brad Hill (Environment and Climate Change Canada), Jeremey Holden (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry), Nicholas Mandrak (University of Toronto), Fielding Montgomery (University of Toronto), Paul Morris (Bowling Green State University), Timothy Patrick (Bowling Green State University), Jeff Ridal (St. Lawrence River Institute of Environmental Sciences), and Paul Sibley (University of Guelph).

Players for IAGLR Team USA coached by George Bullerjahn (Bowling Green State University) were: Kevin Czajkowski (University of Toledo), Brandon Gerig (Notre Dame University), John Gordon (CMU), James Kessler (University of Michigan), Mike McKay (Bowling Green State University), Gary Michaud (CMU), Justin Myers (Wright State), Adam Point (Clarkson University), Evan Thomas (MacMurray College), Don Uzarski (CMU), Donnie Uzarski, Jr. (CMU), and James Selegean (U.S. Army Corp s of Engineers).

The traditional ceremonial puck drop was made by the Michigan State Rep. Abdullah Hammoud. The game was refereed by Michael Twiss, who also is a Clarkson University professor of biology.

Clarkson University educates the leaders of the global economy. One in five alumni already leads as an owner, CEO, VP or equivalent senior executive of a company. With its main campus located in Potsdam, N.Y., and additional graduate program and research facilities in the Capital Region and Beacon, New York, Clarkson is a nationally recognized research university with signature areas of academic excellence and research directed toward the world's pressing issues. Through more than 50 rigorous programs of study in engineering, business, arts, education, sciences and the health professions, the entire learning-living community spans boundaries across disciplines, nations and cultures to build powers of observation, challenge the status quo, and connect discovery and innovation with enterprise.

Photo captions:

defycup2017-1.jpg: The traditional ceremonial puck drop for the 2017 International Association for Great Lakes Research Defy Cup Hockey Challenge was made by the Michigan State Rep. Abdullah Hammoud, center.  IAGLR Team USA was represented by Mike McKay (Bowling Green State University) and IAGLR Team Canada was represented by Fielding Montgomery (Brampton Thunder, Canadian Women's Hockey League). Proceeds from the game raised $1,243 for the IAGLR Scholarship.

defycup2017-2.jpg: Players in the 2017 Defy Cup International Association for Great Lakes Research Hockey Challenge that donated $1,243 towards the IAGLR Scholarship.

[Photographs for media use are available at ; .]

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Kelly Chezum, VP for External Relations, at 315-268-4483 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed