Background Image

Campus Sustainability Leadership

In this Section

Campus sustainability cuts across all of Clarkson's operational units and student life. The Institute for a Sustainable Environment is responsible for coordinating and overseeing our sustainability efforts, but the actual implementation of projects requires significant input from facilities, information technology, dining services, and other offices on campus.

Susan E. Powers, PhD, PE, a professor or Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Jean '79 and Robert '79 Spence Professor of Sustainable Environmental Systems is the current Associate Director for Sustainability. She works closely with a team of colleagues and students to support, plan and implement Clarkson's sustainability initiatives. 

Alex French, Sustainability Coordinator. He holds an M.S. in Environmental Policy (EPG) from Clarkson University with a background in cultural anthropology and nonprofit work.

Current Campus Sustainability Committee members include:

Susan Powers, ISE (chair)
Allison S. Aldrich, Budgets & Finance
Alex French, ISE
Alexandra J. Rowe, CUSA
Aurora Goodwin, CUSA
Cheryl Mirer, Corporate Foundations and Relations
Emily Gonthier, President, ECO
Erik Backus, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Gerald Bova, HR / Env. Safety
Jessica H. Martin, CUSA
Karli Olson, ARAMARK
Matthew LeBire, Admissions
Mike Tremper/Ian Hazen, Facilities & Services
Michelle L. Young, Library
Samantha Karpa, Student, Synergy
Tamera Rizk, Student Affairs
Theresa Ferero, Admin/ISE
William Vitek, Humanities & Social Sciences

Clarkson is an institutional member of AASHE and the USGBC.