Background Image

News & Events


NCAA Division III Defeats Effort To Repeal Waiver

NCAA Division III colleges and universities today overwhelmingly rejected a proposal to strip eight schools, including Clarkson University, of the right to award athletic grants-in-aid in sports in which they have traditionally competed on the Division I level.

The Division III membership, on the last day of the 2004 NCAA Convention in Nashville, Tenn., voted 296-106 with 17 abstentions to support an amendment proposed by the eight schools. The amended proposal then passed 304-89 with 18 abstentions.

“We are pleased that our Division III colleagues supported the amendment put forth by our eight schools,” said Clarkson President Tony Collins.

As passed, the amended version of Proposal 65 continues a waiver, first granted in 1983, that allows the eight to provide athletic financial aid in their traditional Division I sports. It closes the door, however, on any future growth in the number of Division III schools that offer athletic aid in a Division I sport.

“This action affirms the 1983 waiver that allowed us to continue our great tradition and history in hockey. It recognizes the strong traditions, pride and competitive spirit that these programs bring to our schools,” said Collins. “Indeed, Clarkson has a long and deep history that includes competitive Division I athletics.

“We shall continue to promote the ideals of the student athlete here at Clarkson. Students who are involved in our Division I programs are treated equitably and all benefit from a philosophy of academics and athletics that promotes their total development. The presence of Division I programs at Clarkson in no way diminishes our commitment to Division III values and philosophy.

“We especially thank our alumni and friends, and our colleagues from the other seven affected institutions, for their show of support in contacting other institutions and voicing their opinion on this issue.”

In addition to Clarkson, the other seven schools affected by this legislation were St. Lawrence University; Colorado College; Johns Hopkins University; State University College at Oneonta; Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Newark; and Hartwick College.

More information about Proposal 65 and Proposal 65-1 is online at

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed