Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson University-Sponsored FIRST Robotics Competition Team Wins at the Inaugural NY Tech Valley Regional

Clarkson University's FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) Team 229, Division By Zero, won the inaugural New York Tech Valley Regional held March 13-15, its sixth regional FRC win since 1998.

The winning Clarkson University-sponsored FIRST Robotics Competition Team 229 at the NY Tech Valley Regional with their robotPart of Clarkson’s nationally recognized Student Projects for Engineering Experience and Design (SPEED) program, FRC Team 229 consists of high school students from the Massena and Salmon River Central school districts mentored by Clarkson undergraduate students from a variety of majors.

The three-day event included practice, qualification and double elimination matches between three-on-three robot alliances competing in a game, called Arial Assist, that required teams to pass exercise balls down a 24’ by 54’ field and shoot them into scoring goals at the field ends.

After taking part in 12 qualification matches, Team 229 was invited join an alliance with Team 1126 from Webster, N.Y., and Team 20 from Clifton Park, N.Y., for the double elimination matches. The resulting alliance used the strengths of each robot and some great team work to win all but one of their elimination matches on their way to victory.

As a result of its regional win, Team 229 has been invited to participate in the FRC World Championship in St Louis, Mo., on April 23-26.

For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology (FIRST) is a Manchester, N.H., based 501 (c) (3) not-for-profit public charity founded in 1989 to inspire young people's interest and participation in science and technology by designing accessible, innovative programs that motivate young people to pursue education and career opportunities in science, technology, engineering, and math, while building self-confidence, knowledge, and life skills. Its annual FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC), dubbed a varsity Sport for the Mind, combines the excitement of sport with the rigors of science and technology. Under strict rules, limited resources, and time limits, teams of 10 or more high school students are challenged to raise funds, design a team “brand,” hone teamwork skills, and build and program a robot to perform prescribed tasks against a field of competitors. It’s as close to “real world” engineering as a student can get. Professional Mentors volunteer their time and talents to guide each team. See for more information.

Clarkson University launches leaders into the global economy. One in five alumni already leads as a CEO, VP or equivalent senior executive of a company. Located just outside the Adirondack Park in Potsdam, N.Y., Clarkson is a nationally recognized research university for undergraduates with select graduate programs in signature areas of academic excellence directed toward the world’s pressing issues. Through 50 rigorous programs of study in engineering, business, arts, sciences and health sciences, the entire learning-living community spans boundaries across disciplines, nations and cultures to build powers of observation, challenge the status quo, and connect discovery and engineering innovation with enterprise.

Photo caption: Above, the winning Clarkson University-sponsored FIRST Robotics Competition Team 229 at the NY Tech Valley Regional with their robot. Kneeling in front row left to right (C=Clarkson, M=Massena, S=Salmon River): Alex Batten (M), Jennifer Beaudin (M), Jason Avery (M), Ray Phillips (C), Amanda Clapper (C), Adam Brewster (C), Tyler Fefee (M). Standing in back: Eric Kasper (C), Kaeliana Smoke (M), Krystal Arquette (M), Lauren Ransom (S), Zach Koons (C), Tristan Nichols (M), Mackenzie Phelix (S), Matt Hoerning (C), Karoniate Conners (S), Kyle Neufang (S), Thomas Weitz (M), Kody D'Aze (S), Shane Chartrand (M), Noah Hargrave (M), David Elman (M), McKay Burley (M), Corey Snyder (M), Erin Drake (M), Evan Fregoe (M), Matthew Gasperoni (C), Luis Estevez (M), Josh Miller (M), Darcie Fregoe (coach-M), Katie McDonald (C), Brianna Barley (C), Harley McGovern (M), Jeff LaFlame (C), Jacob LaValley (M), Marc Tessier (M), Mitchell Beyer (C), Colin Lewis (M), Joe Sanchez (C), Casey Godzyk (C), Blaise  Barra (C), Bryce Ryan (M), John Seeman (C).

[A photograph for media use is available at .]

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed