Background Image

News & Events


Clarkson University's Hopke Receives International Award for Exposure Science Research

Clarkson University's Philip K. Hopke has received the 2016 International Society of Exposure Science Constance L. Melhman Award for his contributions to exposure science research that influenced policy.

Philip K. HopkeHopke, the Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor Emeritus, is renowned internationally as a preeminent researcher in atmospheric and aerosol science and engineering.

He received the award this month at the annual meeting in Utrecht, The Netherlands.

Myron Mehlman, the society's first president and former managing editor of the Journal of Exposure Analysis and Environmental Epidemiology, endowed the award in 1999 in honor of his late wife, Constance Mehlman, an environmental attorney. The award recognizes a member who has most helped shape a national or state policy with exposure analysis or affected a reduction or prevention of exposure.

ISES is dedicated to fostering and advancing exposure science related to environmental contamination in human populations and ecosystems; promoting communication among exposure analysts, epidemiologists, toxicologists, and other scientists; recommending approaches to substantive or methodological concerns; and strengthening the impact of exposure assessment and analysis on environmental policy.

Clarkson University educates the leaders of the global economy. One in five alumni already leads as an owner, CEO, VP or equivalent senior executive of a company. With its main campus located in Potsdam, New York, and additional graduate program and research facilities in the Capital Region and Beacon, N.Y., Clarkson is a nationally recognized research university with signature areas of academic excellence and research directed toward the world's pressing issues. Through more than 50 rigorous programs of study in engineering, business, arts, education, sciences and the health professions, the entire learning-living community spans boundaries across disciplines, nations and cultures to build powers of observation, challenge the status quo and connect discovery and innovation with enterprise.

Photo caption: Philip H. Hopke, Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor Emeritus, left, receives the 2016 International Society of Exposure Science Melhman Award, presented by Dick Heedrick, professor for health risk analysis at Utrecht University's Institute for Risk Assessment Sciences.

[A photograph for media use is available at .]

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Annie Harrison, Director of Media Relations, at 315-268-6764 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed