Background Image

News & Events


Electrochemical Society Reappoints S. V. Babu to Editorial Advisory Committee

The Electrochemical Society recently announced the reappointment of S.V. Babu, Distinguished University Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering in Clarkson University’s Wallace H Coulter School of Engineering, to its Editorial Advisory Committee (EAC).

S.V. BabuThe EAC expedites and facilitates evaluation and publication decisions of manuscripts submitted to The Electrochemical Society’s journals. In this role, experts like Babu, provide support to the journal editors in areas where existing technical editors and associate editors may need additional assistance.

Committee members are available for a rapid review and additional opinions to supplement conflicting or imbalanced comments from other reviewers; processing assistance in the journal areas that receive a large number of annual submissions; and reviewing and expediting articles that go in the society’s other communications media.

Babu is the past director of Clarkson’s Center for Advanced Materials Processing and an expert in the field of chemical-mechanical planarization (CMP), holding 31 patents. He has supervised 44 Ph.D. and 38 master of science students and is a co-author of more than 250 professional publications, including 198 peer-reviewed publications.

He has organized and co-organized many conferences and symposiums, as well as served as keynote speaker numerous times. He has been named twice with the IBM Faculty Award (2004 and 2016), and acknowledgement of his contributions to education and research from Intel, The Chinese Academy of Sciences, and the World Education Congress are among other external recognition.

In his previous term with the EAC, Babu led the publication of a focus issue on “Chemical Mechanical Planarization: Advanced Material and Consumable Challenges” by the ECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology (Vol. 4, Issue 11, 2015). He also edited a book, titled Advances in Chemical Mechanical Planarization, that was just published by Woodhead publishing, a division of Elsevier.

In addition to Babu, the current EAC membership includes Scott A. Calabrese Barton (Michigan State University,), Byung Doo Chin (Dankook University, Korea), Mike Hickner (Penn State University), Sean King (Intel Corporation), Rainer Kungas (Haldor Topsoe A/S, Denmark), and Anant Setlur (General Electric Global Research).

The mission of The Electrochemical Society is to advance theory and practice at the forefront of electrochemical and solid state science and technology, and allied subjects. To encourage research, discussion, critical assessment, and dissemination of knowledge in these fields, the society holds meetings, publishes scientific papers, fosters training and education of scientists and engineers, and cooperates with other organizations to promote science and technology in the public interest.

For more about the EAC, read the ECS Redcat blog, “Strengthening the Peer-Review Process,” at

Clarkson University educates the leaders of the global economy. One in five alumni already leads as an owner, CEO, VP or equivalent senior executive of a company. With its main campus located in Potsdam, New York, and additional graduate program and research facilities in the Capital Region and Beacon, N.Y., Clarkson is a nationally recognized research university with signature areas of academic excellence and research directed toward the world's pressing issues. Through more than 50 rigorous programs of study in engineering, business, arts, education, sciences and the health professions, the entire learning-living community spans boundaries across disciplines, nations and cultures to build powers of observation, challenge the status quo and connect discovery and innovation with enterprise.

[A photograph for media use is available at]

[News directors and editors: For more information, contact Kelly Chezum, VP for External Relations, at 315-268-4483 or]

Calendar View the full calendar >>

Full Calendar RSS Feed